Old testament books and divisions

8.64  ·  2,925 ratings  ·  698 reviews
Posted on by
old testament books and divisions

The Structure of the Bible - Divisions Structure Bible Menorah

All people talk about the Bible, but very few know that in the construction of the Bible you can see the conscious work of God. There is no random arrangement of books, but each individual book of the Bible has its particular place and meaning. The Bible is only one book worldwide that offers such a variety and is not comparable with any other book. You will now receive amazing information about the structure of the Bible which every person on earth should know. Originally the OT was written on 22 scrolls the canonization was already done by Esra and Nehemiah , but it contains a total of 39 or 43 individual books.
File Name: old testament books and divisions.zip
Size: 16973 Kb
Published 25.12.2018

The Holy Bible: Old Testament (Audiobook) - Part 1/6

Question: What are the major divisions of the 39 books of the Old Testament? Answer: The Pentateuch, History, Poetry or Writings, Major Prophets, Minor.

Old Testament Books and Divisions

Outline of Bible-related topics. The Old Testament abbreviated OT is the first part of Christian Bibles , based primarily upon the Hebrew Bible or Tanakh , a collection of ancient religious writings by the Israelites [1] believed by most Christians and religious Jews to be the sacred Word of God. The books that comprise the Old Testament canon , as well as their order and names, differ between Christian denominations. The Catholic canon comprises 46 books, and the canons of the Eastern Orthodox and Oriental Orthodox Churches comprise up to 49 books [3] and the most common Protestant canon comprises 39 books. The 39 books in common to all the Christian canons correspond to the 24 books of the Tanakh, with some differences of order, and there are some differences in text. The additional number reflects the splitting of several texts Kings , Samuel and Chronicles , Ezra—Nehemiah and the minor prophets into separate books in Christian bibles. The books which are part of a Christian Old Testament but which are not part of the Hebrew canon are sometimes described as deuterocanonical.

Of the 66 books that make up the Bible, the Old Testament consists of 39 while the New Testament consists of 27 books. Poetry Books. They are the next five books, namely:. Books of the Prophets. One written to the Jewish Christians in general, believed to be written by the Apostle Paul, but not confirmed by contemporary Bible Scholars, namely;. Most of the information was helpful, however, there are 4 missing books of the bible in this post. You are commenting using your WordPress.

The Twelve were all formerly written on a single scroll and thus reckoned as one book. The number of books in the Hebrew canon is thus 24, referring to the sum of the separate scrolls on which these works were traditionally written in ancient times. This figure is first cited in II Esdras in a passage usually dated about ce and is frequently mentioned in rabbinic postbiblical literature, but no authentic tradition exists to explain it. Josephus , a 1st-century- ce Jewish historian, and some of the Church Fathers, such as Origen the great 3rd-century Alexandrian theologian , appear to have had a book canon. English Bibles list 39 books for the Old Testament because of the practice of bisecting Samuel, Kings, and Chronicles and of counting Ezra, Nehemiah, and the 12 Minor Prophets as separate books. The threefold nature of the Hebrew Bible the Law, the Prophets, and the Writings is reflected in the literature of the period of the Second Temple 6th—1st century bce and soon after it. The tripartite canon represents the three historic stages in the growth of the canon.


This Bible of the Jews, which is also known as the Hebrew Bible, is divided into three main sections, the Torah, the Prophets, and the Writings. The Prophets is subdivided. The first section of Prophets, like the Torah, is called historical because it tells the story of the Jewish people. The remaining sections of the Prophets and the Writings are on a variety of topics. When the Septuagint , a Greek version of the Jewish Bible, was written in the Hellenistic period -- three centuries before the Christian era, there were apocryphal books in it that are no longer included in the Jewish or Protestant Bible but are included in the Roman Catholic canon. Although the Bible to the Jews and the Old Testament to Christians are close to the same, in a slightly different order, the Biblical books accepted by the different Christian churches vary, even beyond the Septuagint.

1 thoughts on “What Are the Main Divisions of the Bible?

Leave a Reply